I’ve been thinking about the nicknames I’ve used for people in my family. In my adult life I always called my mother “mom”. I’m sure when I was little, I called her “mommy”. My brother still sometimes refers to her as mommy. I called my brother “Terry” but when we were little, he was “bubba”. I was “sissy” to my mom and dad. My brother and cousin called me “Ardie” or “RD”. That was because my brother couldn’t say Arlene. My own sons called me mommy when little but as adults one calls me “Mother” and the other a short sweet “MaMa”. My father’s sister, who was 21 years older than him was like a grandmother to me. Since she was not my actual grandmother I called her “Nannie”. This complicated what I call my actual grandmother, my mother’s mother. All of my cousins called her Nannie but that was confusing for me so I caller her Grandmom. One of cousins, whose name was John Edward was called “Skipper”. I even have to think what his real name was because no one used it. Another cousin, whose name is Leo is called “Buster” because that’s what he did when he was a child. Now it’s hard to remember to call him Leo when in the company of non family. My granddaughters are Zabrina and Dezaree but are called “Bean” and “Dezi”. My mother-in-law called my step son Billy: “Duke”. I’m sure there are others I’m not remembering.
#nicknames, #family nicknames